About School Council

More Information

“School councils play a vital role in the education system in Ontario. They provide a forum through which parents and other members of school communities can contribute to improving student achievement and school performance.”

School Councils: A Guide for Members 2001 (Revised 2002)  688 KB

School Council Meetings

With some exceptions, council meets on the first Monday of every month.

Next Meeting: Dec 4, 2017

When: 7 pm – 8:30 pm
Where: School Library

All Heritage Glen parents are welcome to attend – you do not need to be a member of council to come out and participate.

Free babysitting is provided in the concourse.

Minutes will be posted to this site when they become available. Copies can also be found on the School Council bulletin board in the school. Minutes for the current and previous school year can be found under the “Documents” menu.

How to Participate in Council

Council is elected within the first 30 days of every school year, and there are many ways to participate on council without being a voting member. Every parent is always welcome to attend any and all council meetings, or maybe you have some time or resources to devote to a special event, or an idea for a fundraising initiative. If you would like to be a part of a committee, please email the council representative listed below, and let them know how you can help. For general inquiries, please email hgschoolcouncil@gmail.com.

2017/2018 School Council Membership

Position Name Email
Chair Craig Lemon chair@hgschoolcouncil.org
Vice Chair  Joe Furtado vicechair@hgschoolcouncil.org
Secretary  Heather Begin-Kao secretary@hgschoolcouncil.org
Treasurer  Ron Hassanwalia treasurer@hgschoolcouncil.org
Communications  Christine Bilusack communications@hgschoolcouncil.org
Fundraising  Shivinder Aujla fundraising@hgschoolcouncil.org
PIC Rep  Michael Yang  pic@hgschoolcouncil.org
Parent Engagement  Anita Mero parentengagement@hgschoolcouncil.org
 School Community  Nav Gillarh community@hgschoolcouncil.org
Voting Member Dmitri Prokopiev Dmitri.Prokopiev@hgschoolcouncil.org
Teacher Rep Fleur Parker parkerf@hdsb.ca
 Teacher Rep Sandy Wilson wilsonsa@hdsb.ca
Student Rep William O.
Principal Joe Toth tothj@hdsb.ca
Vice Principal  Ms. Baylor baylors@hdsb.ca